

## ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA FEBRUARY 13 – 17, 2023

Lavenski R. Smith, Chief Judge - Little Rock, Arkansas

#### Circuit Judges in Active Service

James B. Loken - Minneapolis, MN
Steven M. Colloton - Des Moines, IA
Raymond W. Gruender - St. Louis, MO
Duane Benton - Kansas City, MO
Bobby E. Shepherd - El Dorado, AR
Jane Kelly - Cedar Rapids, IA
Ralph R. Erickson - Fargo, ND
L. Steven Grasz - Omaha, NE
David R. Stras - Minneapolis, MN
Jonathan A. Kobes - Sioux Falls, SD

#### <u>Circuit Judges Who Have Taken Senior Status</u>

Roger L. Wollman - Sioux Falls, SD Morris S. Arnold - Little Rock, AR Michael J. Melloy - Cedar Rapids, IA

#### NOTICE TO ALL COUNSEL

Please review the entire calendar, as you may have more than one case scheduled for oral argument. Please check the calendar carefully for the starting time for your day and division.

Court will be held in the Warren E. Burger Federal Building & U.S. Courthouse at 316 N. Robert Street, St. Paul, Minnesota. Counsel presenting oral argument should report to the courtroom, 30 minutes before Court convenes.

Counsel may not waive oral argument without prior leave of court. Absent leave of court, only one attorney is permitted to present the argument for a party. However, if the parties on a side are separately represented and have filed separate briefs, each party on that side is permitted to argue; in such a case, counsel must confer and decide how they will split the time shown on the calendar. Questions should be addressed to the Clerk of Court.

Counsel are required to file an "Oral Argument Response/Appearance" form with the Clerk's Office identifying the party or parties they will be representing at oral argument. If an "Appearance" form has not already been filed, the "Oral Argument Response/Appearance" form serves as your notice of appearance in the case. Every attorney who presents oral argument must be admitted to the Eighth Circuit Bar unless the attorney has been appointed to represent a party proceeding in forma pauperis or represents the United States.

The time allotted for each side's argument is noted to the right of the case. Cases designated as NO ARG will be submitted to the Court on the briefs and record without oral argument, and counsel are not required to appear for cases designated NO ARG.

Michael E. Gans Clerk of Court

www.ca8.uscourts.gov

### DIVISION I Courtroom 5A 5th Floor

### MONDAY, FEBRUARY 13, 2023 BEFORE JUDGES LOKEN, COLLOTON, BENTON

22-1401	NI	United States v. David Wright, Jr.	NO ARG
22-1609	NI	United States v. George Ashby	NO ARG
22-1705	EM	United States v. David Twine	NO ARG
22-1210	WM	United States v. Anthony Harris	NO ARG
22-1495	EM	United States v. Brian White	NO ARG
22-1254 22-1441 22-1477 22-1524 22-2055	SI SI SI SI SI	United States v. Austin Nichols United States v. Antonio Herrera United States v. Jacob Trujillo United States v. Mario Herrera United States v. Jose Pena	NO ARG

# TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 14, 2023, BEGINNING AT 9:00 A.M. BEFORE JUDGES LOKEN, COLLOTON, BENTON

1.	21-3052	MN	Pollyanna Burns, et al. v. School Service Employee Union Local 284, et al.	15
2.	21-3779 22-2383		Flavio Pacheco-Moran v. Merrick B. Garland Flavio Pacheco-Moran v. Merrick B. Garland	15
3.	22-2002	ND	United States v. Deshonte Dickson	15
4.	22-2125	MN	Todd Mortier v. LivaNova USA	15
5.	22-2129	SD	Venture Communications Cooperative v. James Valley Cooperative Telephone Company, et al.	
	22-2190	SD	Venture Communications Cooperative v. James Valley Cooperative Telephone	
			Company, et al.	15

### DIVISION I Courtroom 5A 5th Floor

# WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 15, 2023, BEGINNING AT 9:00 A.M. BEFORE JUDGES COLLOTON, BENTON, KELLY

1.	22-1613	MN	Larry Johnson v. Schulte Hosp. Group	15
2.	22-2927	NI	Parents Defending Education, et al. v. Linn Mar Community School District, et al.	15
3.	22-2201	ND	United States v. Roger Cooley	15
4.	22-2277	SD	Aarin Nygaard v. Tricia Taylor, et al.	15
5.	22-2276	MN	United States v. Michael Voelz	10
		-	FEBRUARY 16, 2023, BEGINNING AT 9:00 A.M. JUDGES COLLOTON, BENTON, KELLY	
1.	22-1787	SD	United States v. Larry Rederick	15
2.	22-2346	ND	United States v. Michael Eckis	15
3.	22-2020 22-2025	ND ND	WPX Energy Williston v. Hon. B.J. Jones, et al. WPX Energy Williston v. Gabriel Fettig, et al.	15
4.	22-2012	ND	Marco Gonzalez v. Salem Shahin, et al.	15
5	22-2282	MN	United States v. Dywan Conley	10

### DIVISION I Courtroom 5A 5th Floor

# FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 17, 2023, BEGINNING AT 8:30 A.M. BEFORE JUDGES COLLOTON, BENTON, KELLY

1.	22-2112	SD	United States v. Elizabeth Pounds	15
2.	22-1889	MN	United States v. Darnell Stennis	15
3.	22-2196	ND	United States v. Javaar Watkins	15
4.	22-2176	SD	United States v. Kimo Little Bird, Sr.	15
5.	22-1887	SD	United States v. Garrett Waters	15