

# ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA FEBRUARY 12 - 16, 2018

Lavenski R. Smith, Chief Judge - Little Rock, Arkansas

#### **Circuit Judges in Active Service**

Roger L. Wollman - Sioux Falls, SD
James B. Loken - Minneapolis, MN
Steven M. Colloton - Des Moines, IA
Raymond W. Gruender - St. Louis, MO
Duane Benton - Kansas City, MO
Bobby E. Shepherd - El Dorado, AR
Jane Kelly - Cedar Rapids, IA
Ralph R. Erickson - Fargo, ND
L. Steven Grasz - Omaha, NE

#### Circuit Judges Who Have Taken Senior Status

Pasco M. Bowman - Kansas City, MO C. Arlen Beam - Lincoln, NE Morris S. Arnold - Little Rock, AR Diana E. Murphy - Minneapolis, MN Michael J. Melloy - Cedar Rapids, IA

### NOTICE TO ALL COUNSEL

Please review the entire calendar, as you may have more than one case scheduled for oral argument. Please check the calendar carefully for the starting time for your day and division.

Court will be held in the Warren E. Burger Federal Building & U.S. Courthouse at 316 N. Robert Street, St. Paul, Minnesota. Counsel presenting oral argument should report to the Clerk's Office, Room 500, 30 minutes before Court convenes.

Counsel may not waive oral argument without prior leave of court. Absent leave of court, only one attorney is permitted to present the argument for a party. However, if the parties on a side are separately represented and have filed separate briefs, each party on that side is permitted to argue; in such a case, counsel must confer and decide how they will split the time shown on the calendar. Questions should be addressed to the Clerk of Court.

Counsel are required to file an "Argument Response/Appearance" form with the Clerk's Office identifying the party or parties they will be representing at oral argument. If an "Appearance" form has not already been filed, the "Argument Response/Appearance" form serves as your notice of appearance in the case. Every attorney who presents oral argument must be admitted to the Eighth Circuit Bar unless the attorney has been appointed to represent a party proceeding in forma pauperis or represents the United States.

The time allotted for each side's argument is noted to the right of the case. Cases designated as NO ARG will be submitted to the Court on the briefs and record without oral argument, and counsel are not required to appear for cases designated NO ARG.

Michael E. Gans Clerk of Court www.ca8.uscourts.gov

### DIVISION I Courtroom 5A

### MONDAY, FEBRUARY 12, 2018 BEFORE JUDGES SMITH, MURPHY, COLLOTON

16-3213	MN	Leslie Wilson v. Wells Fargo Bank, et al.	NO ARG
16-4206	ND	United States v. Travis Clark, Jr.	NO ARG
16-4437	MN	United States v. Anton Martynenko	NO ARG
16-4568	SD	United States v. Robisdel Gonzalez-Abreu	NO ARG
17-1067	MN	Scott Lansing v. Wells Fargo Bank	NO ARG
17-2919	NI	United States v. Norman Dudley	NO ARG

### TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 13, 2018 BEGINNING AT 9:00 A.M. BEFORE JUDGES SMITH, MURPHY, COLLOTON

1	17-1135	SD	Oglala Sioux Tribe, et al. v. Mark Vargo	
	17-1136	SD	Oglala Sioux Tribe, et al. v. Honorable	
			Craig Pfeifle	
	17-1137	SD	Oglala Sioux Tribe, et al. v. Lisa	
			Fleming, et al.	20
2	17-1104	NE	Nicholas Sampson, et al. v. St. Paul	
			Fire and Marine Insurance Company	
	17-1106	NE	Matthew Livers, et al. v. St. Paul	
			Fire and Marine Insurance Company	
	17-1114	NE	Nicholas Sampson v. David Kofoed, et al.	
	17-1117	NE	Matthew Livers v. David Kofoed, et al.	20
3	16-4532	MN	James Sharbono v. Northern States	
			Power Company	15
4	17-1338		Mark Tettey Kom Degbe v. Jefferson	
			B. Sessions, III	15
5	17-1192		Sheri Hanson v. Randall L. Seaver	15
6	16-4551	MN	Muhammad Abdurrahman v. Mark	
			Dayton, et al.	15

### DIVISION I Courtroom 5A

### WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 14, 2018 BEGINNING AT 9:00 A.M. BEFORE JUDGES SMITH, MURPHY, COLLOTON

1	17-1014 17-1018 17-1059 17-1170 17-1172	MN MN MN MN	United States v. Walter Escobar United States v. Jose Rojas-Andrade United States v. Jason Jackson United States v. Trinidad Garcia United States v. Catarino Cruz, Jr.	30
2	17-1322	MN	CenterPoint Energy Resources v. Gas Workers Union, Local No. 340	15
3	17-1202 17-1324	NI NI	Larry Zubrod, et al. v. Shayne Hoch, et al. Cheryl Zubrod, et al. v. Shayne Hoch, et al.	15
4	17-1560	MN	Isis Naguib, et al. v. Trimark Hotel Corporation, et al.	15
5	17-1385	MN	Tawana Henderson v. City of Woodbury, et al.	15
6	17-1244	MN	Teresa Bierman, et al. v. Governor Mark Dayton, et al.	15
		-	FEBRUARY 15, 2018 BEGINNING AT 9:00 A.M. JUDGES SMITH, MURPHY, COLLOTON	
1	17-1327 17-1347 17-1496	MN MN MN	United States v. Sienemah Gaye United States v. Finoh Fillie United States v. Prince Sumoso	20
2	17-1164	NI	Eugene Nelson, et al. v. Charles City Community School District	15
3	17-1261		U.S. Department of Labor v. Michael Harris	15
4	16-4204	NI	Patricia Jensen v. IOC Black Hawk County	15
5	17-1524	SD	Steven Brende v. Darin Young, et al.	15
6	17-1123		Sandra Pena De Rivas, et al. v. Jefferson B. Sessions, III	15

### DIVISION I Courtroom 5A

## FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 16, 2018 BEGINNING AT 9:00 A.M. BEFORE JUDGES SMITH, MURPHY, COLLOTON

1	17-1287	ND	United States v. Michael Modisett	15
2	17-1310	ND	United States v. Dallas Thundershield	15
3	17-1300	MN	United States v. Jordan Davis	15
4	17-1527	MN	United States v. Jeffrey Pendleton	10
5	17-1422	MN	United States v. Gerard Roy	10
6	17-1325	ND	United States v. Calvin Bernhardt	15