

### ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA DECEMBER 12 – 16, 2022

Lavenski R. Smith, Chief Judge - Little Rock, Arkansas

### Circuit Judges in Active Service

James B. Loken - Minneapolis, MN
Steven M. Colloton - Des Moines, IA
Raymond W. Gruender - St. Louis, MO
Duane Benton - Kansas City, MO
Bobby E. Shepherd - El Dorado, AR
Jane Kelly - Cedar Rapids, IA
Ralph R. Erickson - Fargo, ND
L. Steven Grasz - Omaha, NE
David R. Stras - Minneapolis, MN
Jonathan A. Kobes - Sioux Falls, SD

### <u>Circuit Judges Who Have Taken Senior Status</u>

Roger L. Wollman - Sioux Falls, SD Morris S. Arnold - Little Rock, AR Michael J. Melloy - Cedar Rapids, IA

### NOTICE TO ALL COUNSEL

Please review the entire calendar, as you may have more than one case scheduled for oral argument. Please check the calendar carefully for the starting time for your day and division.

Court will be held in the Warren E. Burger Federal Building & U.S. Courthouse at 316 N. Robert Street, St. Paul, Minnesota. Counsel presenting oral argument should report to the courtroom, 30 minutes before Court convenes.

Counsel may not waive oral argument without prior leave of court. Absent leave of court, only one attorney is permitted to present the argument for a party. However, if the parties on a side are separately represented and have filed separate briefs, each party on that side is permitted to argue; in such a case, counsel must confer and decide how they will split the time shown on the calendar. Questions should be addressed to the Clerk of Court.

Counsel are required to file an "Oral Argument Response/Appearance" form with the Clerk's Office identifying the party or parties they will be representing at oral argument. If an "Appearance" form has not already been filed, the "Oral Argument Response/Appearance" form serves as your notice of appearance in the case. Every attorney who presents oral argument must be admitted to the Eighth Circuit Bar unless the attorney has been appointed to represent a party proceeding in forma pauperis or represents the United States.

The time allotted for each side's argument is noted to the right of the case. Cases designated as NO ARG will be submitted to the Court on the briefs and record without oral argument, and counsel are not required to appear for cases designated NO ARG.

Michael E. Gans Clerk of Court

www.ca8.uscourts.gov

### DIVISION I Courtroom 5A 5th Floor

### MONDAY, DECEMBER 12, 2022 BEFORE JUDGES LOKEN, MELLOY, KOBES

21-3445	EM	United States v. Bradley Johnson	NO ARG
21-3887	EA	United States v. Nicholas Dismuke	NO ARG
22-1042	NE	United States v. Kenneth Becker	NO ARG
22-1098	ND	United States v. Larry Owens, III	NO ARG
22-1107	EM	United States v. Jeremiah Taylor	NO ARG
22-1119	EM	United States v. Leroy Tate	NO ARG

## TUESDAY, DECEMBER 13, 2022, BEGINNING AT 9:00 A.M. BEFORE JUDGES LOKEN, MELLOY, KOBES

1.	21-1601		Miguel Perez v. Merrick B. Garland	15
2.	21-3213	ND	United States v. Tyler Berglund	15
3.	22-1860	ND	Henry Howe v. Steven Gilpin, et al.	15
4.	22-1817	MN	H&T Fair Hills, et al. v. Alliance Pipeline	15
5.	22-1478	MN	Eric Sorenson, et al. v. Joanne Sorenson	15

### DIVISION I Courtroom 5A 5th Floor

# WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2022, BEGINNING AT 9:00 A.M. BEFORE JUDGES LOKEN, MELLOY, KOBES

1.	21-3661 22-1065	MN MN	United States v. Emily Hari United States v. Emily Hari	20
2.	22-1053	MN	Brent Smith v. United States	15
3.	22-1601	MN	Brian Dahle v. Kilolo Kijakazi	15
4.	22-1721	ND	Jade Mound, et al. v. The United States of America	15
5.	22-1259	MN	United States v. Travis Mayer	15
		-	DECEMBER 15, 2022, BEGINNING AT 9:00 A.M. E JUDGES LOKEN, ERICKSON, KOBES	
1.	21-3079	MN	The Satanic Temple v. City of Belle Plaine, et al.	
	21-3081	MN	The Satanic Temple v. City of Belle Plaine	15
2.	21-3564	MN	Lisa Brabbit v. Frank Capra, et al	15
3.	22-1209	MN	Louis DeGidio, et al. v. Industrial Combustion, et al.	15
4.	22-1603	MN	Brandon Peterson v. Commander Roger Heinen	15
5.	22-1567 22-1579	SD SD	Lowell Lundstrom, Jr. v. Watts Guerra Lowell Lundstrom, Jr. v. Daniel Homolka, et al.	15

### DIVISION I Courtroom 5A 5th Floor

# FRIDAY, DECEMBER 16, 2022, BEGINNING AT 8:30 A.M. BEFORE JUDGES LOKEN, ERICKSON, KOBES

1.	22-1708	SD	United States v. James Rutledge	15
2.	22-1558	SD	United States v. Christopher Truax	15
3.	22-1841	SD	United States v. Patrick Medearis	15
4.	22-1284	MN	United States v. Johnnie Haynes	10
5.	21-3091	SD	United States v. Kyle Soto	15